1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

A gui**** tuning experience...

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by improvpwnd, Feb 21, 2008.

1. Don't know if this should be here or in the 'Bass Humor...' section, but here's my story.

Today at practice with a pop group I just started playing for, I noticed I was out of tune with the guitar. I stop the song (there is a band leader, but she and I are close and the rest of the band respects my opinion as I do theirs even though I'm new guy--so this isn't so awkward), and said, "I think were out of tune" to the guitar player. I give him an E (in his octave, cuz, well, ya know)..E sounds good. He uses that for his A. A sounds good. Uses that for his D. Uh-oh, dissonance. Obviously, the D is the out of tune string--at lease this far....but what does he do? Turn the A string tuning knob, plays a power chord (that sounds even worse now that he has 2 strings even more out of tune), stops, looks over at me and nods "I'm ready." :confused: Do you not have ears?! By this time, I feel I have taken enough time from the band being the new guy and since no one else could hear the out-of-tuneness...so I nod "Ready" back.

I play the rest of the tune by bending my strings into tune every time we were both playing on the A.. the weird thing is that I have done this before with other players when I just don't want to stop the song to tune (because it is usually more hassle that its worth)...I just bend then strings into tune--any you guys ever done this?

2. santucci218

santucci218

Jan 26, 2007
    Pittsburgh
    just walk over and tune it for him next time, lmao.

3. Buy a fretless:)

4. +1

5. jnuts1

jnuts1

Nov 13, 2007
    i have to do that all the time.

6. Oh, and tell your guitar player to get a tuner in his chain of effects!