A Hidden Benefit to DGCF Tuning

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Matthew_84, Jan 23, 2017.

1. So, I decided to tune my bass to DGCF tuning. I used to tune the BEAD, but I missed the G string, and I rarely played below D so I thought this was a good compromise. I also realized I could stick a capo on the neck on all four strings to get standard EADG tuning, or even on the top three strings to get Drop D tuning without having to relearn the fingerboard.

Yesterday, I was playing a song I just started learning in EADG tuning that had a very quick descending chromatic run (E to Eb to D to DB to C on the A string) within the verse's main riff. I sometimes struggled to play this accurately in time, especially when I got to the C and I had to shift positions.

Anyways, I tried playing this riff yesterday in the new DGCF tuning (which moved every note towards the bridge by a whole tone), and it was much easier to play accurately with the space between the frets being a little narrower.

I realized that this gave me the playability of a short scale bass. Plus, I've read that a short scale bass has a bit of a rounder tone due to the lower tension, but I didn't notice this with my DGCF tuning on a 34" scale bass.

Anyways, I just thought I'd share.

Cheers,

Matt

Correlli, D.A.R.K., Maluku and 6 others like this.
  2. Anders Barfod

Anders Barfod

Jan 16, 2015
    Great share..

String wise,, what works for you in DGCF tuinng on a 34" scale bass..??
    The common answers here on talkbass seems to be 50-70-90-110 or 55-75-90-110 if you like a tight C and F string.

kbakerde and Matthew_84 like this.
  3. I bought single strings from BassStringsOnline.com and built my own set.

I made it out of DR Stainless Steel Lo Riders and gauges are .115 - .085 - .060 - .045.