Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

A huge thank you to this site and eveyone who participates!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by vegaas, Nov 21, 2001.

1. vegaas

vegaas

Nov 6, 2001
    Milwaukee
    I can't believe how much I have learned in the past month! Its all because of this and a few other sites.

I have been playing bass on and off for a while, all self taught. I started when I was 16 and played until I was 18. I quit and started up again for a year and then quit again. When I was 27 I started up again and this time stuck with it. That was 4 years ago. I am able to play most of the songs that I want to, I play in metal band (before that I played in a pop band :( ) and am able to hold my own. However, when someone would compliment me on my playing I would feel like a fraud because I never really understood what I was doing. I would just listen to songs and then figure them out. I could also come up with some decent parts for our originals, but if I was asked to improvise, our do an open jam, forget it, didnt have a clue.
    About a month ago, I was bored at work and decided to see if I could find some tabs on some of the covers we are doing, to see if it matched up with what I do. I found Tabcrawler, I saw the message board and signed up. It wasnt bad, but I could tell there were alot of younger players there. I did however notice their sections on some basic theory. I then found talk bass, and have learned all types of info about good bass construction and what to look for in bass's. I also started reading the the lessons on theory. Someone here then mentioned libster.com, what a god send that has become, for the first time in my life I am learning to read music!