Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

A.J.- The Most Uncomfortable-Looking Bassist?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Bryan R. Tyler, Jan 31, 2006.

1. Bryan R. Tyler

Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002 Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2002
    Connecticut
    While I've enjoyed listening to his playing for years, I've had limited experience seeing Anthony Jackson play, other than seeing Chaka Khan on Soul Train years ago and a Hirmomi video clip. I recently picked up Lee Ritenour's "Overtime" DVD with AJ in the bass chair for most of it, and I gotta say that I have no idea how he plays like he does.

His hands are small with stubby fingers and appear slow inflexible. He makes big hand gestures when playing low notes, swinging his hand away from the bass, so it looks like he'll never recover in time to play the next note on beat. He always plays sitting (which I knew), and appears uncomfortably hunched over his Fodera sig. which seems way too big for his size. His face is constantly contorted with looks of pain and bewilderment, always mouthing things to himself (singing the notes maybe?) and his eyes are wide and intensely darting around, looking like they've just seen a ghost. Yet he plays some of the most wonderful, perfectly timed, intricately fast, and complex lines you've ever heard.

Anyone else notice this? Do you think it's just his body trying to catch up with the genius his brain is putting out so quickly? Know of any other bassists that create wonderful, flowing lines but appear to be in anguish?

2. Haha some funny stuff in there, Bryan!

Like you say, Anthony doesn't look like he's built to play like he does. Those small, stubby fingers don't look like they can pull off those crazy fast lines, on a 6 with 36" scale no less, but they do.