a little amplification advice?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Bus_Mute, Feb 11, 2006.

1. hello everyone!

my name is Joe, I'm sixteen, and I'm new to talkbass.com.

I play in an ambient/post-rock band, and I am looking into buying a new amplifier - my budget is around 850$

I figured that by coming here, I could get some feedback from people that have used the equipment I've been planning to get, rather than going and buying it blindly.

after a lot of thread-browsing and price comparison, I've come to find that I like the idea of :

Peavey Firebass 700 w/ an Avatar cabinet.

I'd really appreciate it if someone would give me their opinion about that equipment, or make another recommendation.

2. Eric Cioe

Eric Cioe

Jun 4, 2001
    Missoula, MT
    Welcome to the site, and I hope you enjoy your tenure here.

I can vouch for Avatar cabinets as pretty decent - I actually just traded my first-series 2x10 for something a little different today, but they are great. Many people seem to like the 2x12, so you should probably check that out.

As far as Peavey heads - they are absolutely rock solid, and are pretty much the standard in bar gig bands. That said, I'm not too very fond of the tone. If high wattage is a must for you, I'd say check out Carvin's B1500 - but that goes for about $700. Probably a bit of a stretch, but maybe you could find one used?

Another option - Gallien-Krueger 700 or 1001 used. Great heads, and in my experience, GK and Avatar go well together.

Let's see what other guys have to say.
  3. thanks a lot. I was definitely looking at the Avatar 2x12's.
    they look a little bigger than most 2x12's I've seen, but I've heard that they are reliable.
    the same with the Firebass.