Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

A Little bit Down

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by lazyi, Jun 8, 2005.

1. lazyi

lazyi

Feb 14, 2005
    Hong Kong
    Hey there Just wondering what others make of this.

To give you some background, I am in a 3 peice original band in Hong Kong. It's a tough place to play, since most bars only like cover bands. Anyway the scene here is picking up slowly. I am the bass player and Lead vocalist. no easy task, especially since I am no expert in either department. So anyway we entered "the world battle of the bands" and had a slot on the first night of the comp. We were all excited to play the venue, because it has some of the best equipment in town. Anyway, as things kicked off the first band did a 5 to 10 minute sound check. The second band dropped out after hearing the first bands sound check. Then the organizers started to scramble and stall for time. The told us we could play longer if we wanted. So we did a sound check and played a 4.5 minute song to get the levels right. During which the came up to the stage and asked if we were finished with the sound check. So we put down our gear and waited for them to introduce the band and what not.

We got on and played our set, which from where I stood sounded the best we have ever played. Although, I started having issues with cotten mouth. We also had several television cameras on us which was nerve racking. I think I get nervous at certain places we play, especially if it is the first time we played there and don't know the equipment or the sound of the place. Anyway, we finished up and the crowd was cheering, more then for the first band, who I thought were good. But anyway the judges preferred the first band, and that is cool with us. Anyway I asked one of the organizers, "somewhat of a friend" for Honest comments on our performance.

So she told me the judges said