Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

A Little Help Please

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by Gard, Jan 7, 2001.

1. Gard

Gard Commercial User

Mar 31, 2000
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    General Manager, Roscoe Guitars
    Greetings from the northern wastelands (A.K.A. the Bass Guitar Forums)!

As a life-long bass guitarist, I've never really had the pleasure of playing an upright bass. But a recent windfall has changed that - somewhat.

I've recently placed a deposit on an electric upright bass (please don't hate me), an NS Design NSDB-CR5M to be precise. I'm getting an electric upright as opposed to a double bass for several reasons: space/traveling concerns, the fact that I'm going to be gigging in high volume situations, and the fact that I don't really intend to play classical or trad jazz anytime in the near future - if ever (no slight against these forms, I appreciate them greatly, but they're just not in my personal future). As my present gig is playing latin and latin-influenced rock, this also is a good fit (the Ampeg Baby Bass connection).

So far, you may think it odd that I've posted here in the Bows forum, but that is exactly what my question is going to be about, as my questions about the actual instrument itself have already been settled.