1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

a little story about reading music...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by joebar, Sep 28, 2013.

1. joebar

joebar

Jan 10, 2010
    I enrolled myself last month in a 6 day Jazz intensive course at a local college. after corresponding with the music director a few times over email, he informed me that I needed to read music or I would be at a severe handicap in the course. by this time I had already paid my fee and jumped in with no regard to this small yet important piece of information. a minimum of 3 years as a musician was a requirement.

now I have been playing bass for nearly 30 years on and off and have a solid grasp on theory and music; I read music back in high school but that was 25 years ago, and I had retained nothing. I have been telling myself for years that I don`t need to read music and made every excuse as to why I don`t.

I told the director of the jazz course that I would see him in 6 weeks- I literally had to relearn what notes were where on the staff; I started from scratch.
    I went and bought some hal leonard jazz play-a-long books and immersed myself in a month and a half odyssey of reading music. had to Wikipedia for a lot of the musical terminology and such.
    right up until the weekend before the course I was studying and playing 10-12 hours per day and hoped it would be enough.

the first thing when I got there was an audition; I was nervous, but I did OK-the instructor said my reading was fine. I told him I just started to read a few weeks ago.
    as the week went on, we were to perform 3 times publicly around the city along with many improvisational jams.
    we were given 4 pieces of music on Monday and by Thursday we would start the performances- I panicked initially. once I relaxed, I settled in and progressed quickly.