A message to parking garage owners in DC:

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Davidoc, Jun 27, 2005.

1. Bite me.

My father works for the SEC, but his office is not in a federal building, rather it is in a private building rented by the government. Apparently the government does not rent the parking garage. I work as an intern at the NRSC, and I go into work every morning on the Metro. (DC subway system) One day we decided to drive in to the city, and my dad parked in the garage beneath his office's building. We took it up the ass on the way out. $17 to park a car for one day? That's absolutely sick. Remind me never to do business with money-grubbing clowns like that. In a little while, my dad's office will be moved to a federal building, at which point everything will be ok.

Has anyone else heard of such ridiculous practices practiced by parking garages?
  2. Got a 25 dollar ticket for parking in a Cornell University garage this past friday. Nobody was at the garage and the gates were open- they weren't checking parking passes as people came in like they do during the school year. These places make their upkeep off of gouging us. It sucks.
  3. rfalter

Jul 20, 2004
    Pasadena, MD
    I work in DC for a Fed Gov agency. Same deal ... leased building/garage. We contractors get to park in the adjacent public garage, however. Our garage gets $20/day. I wouldn't still be working here if my company did not cover my monthly parking bill. Central Parking is the garage manager. They or PMI have most of the garages around here.
  4. uglycicles

uglycicles Supporting Member

Dec 10, 2003
    Southwest Chicago
    My advice to you is to never park in a Chicago Loop garage during the week. You might need smelling salts.

5. bassman314

bassman314 I seem to be a verb, an evolutionary process... Gold Supporting Member

Mar 13, 2005
    Bay Area, CA
    Got y'all beat...