A Need Some Helf On Some Stupid Stuff

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by MattMonroe, Oct 11, 2004.

1. MattMonroe

Oct 11, 2004

I'm very new to the world of bass. I have been a guitar player for years, but not I was always too embrassed to ask these couple of questions. What is a preamp? How does it differ from a normal head? What is the difference between tube and solid state? I always felt stupid that I didn't understand these things. Thanks for the help.
  2. DubDubs

Aug 23, 2004
    Los Angeles
    A pre amp shapes the tone and boosts the signal before the poweramp. The poweramp provides all the power to the speakers.

Tubes have a natural distortion and solid state amps are clean. That's the most basic defference between tubes and SS.
  3. Mike Money

Mike Money Banned

Mar 18, 2003
    Bakersfield California
    Avatar Speakers Endorsing Hooligan

Guitar player? doesnt know the difference between tube and solid state?

4. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    In an effort to draw you out of the dark side, I will help you without my customary wit and/or sarcasm.

A pre-amp is the first amplification stage of an amplifier system. It typically has the EQ circuits in it, and perhaps a compressor. It may be a stand-alone unit designed to feed a separate power amp, or it may be an integral part of what you call a head (we call it that, too), which has its own internal power amp. The key issue is that a pre-amp, by itself, does not have sufficient power to drive speakers. A power amp is required for that.

Now on to tubes/solid state. An all-tube amplifier has vacuum tubes to amplify the signal in both the pre-amp and power amp stages. Solid-state amps use transistors to amplify the signal in all stages. Amps with tubes in the pre-amp and transistors in the power stage are commonly called hybrid amps.