a possible promotion at UPS

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by xcental34x, Jun 19, 2004.

1. xcental34x

Feb 28, 2003
    Memphrica, TN
    I've been working at UPS for three months now, unloading trucks for the Twilight sort, making $9.00 an hour, and a coworker, who is about to become a superviser, talked to me the other day about just the job in gnereal. I was surprised to find out that since my 30 days probation is up, I have the chance anytime now to submit a letter to management to be considered for a part time superviser position. I was even more surprised to learn that I would be put on salary of $1300 a month if so. :eek: That nearly two and a half times what I'm making now. This coworker assured me that the bosses have been pleased with my work, and even my superviser has said I'm one of the best he's got, so now I feel like I have a good shot of getting this job, if I'm patient enough. Go for it?

2. Toasted

May 26, 2003
    Leeds, UK
    Yeah, go for it.

Just dont damage my bass next time ;)
  3. xcental34x

Feb 28, 2003
    Memphrica, TN
    Funny story is, last week we had 17 California loads (large loads full of residential packages from guess where), the first one I got one, I came across several Fender guitars heading to various music stores, one being Riks Music in Knoxville. Well I happen to come across one that was labeled Geddy Lee Jazz Bass. I set it up against the wall and left it until I was finished with the truck, and then put it on the Irreg belt to ensure no damage. But what did I do when I came across a MIA '62 P-bass? Slammed it onto the extendo, and kept on working. Ha!

I wanted to run out with that Geddy so bad.

4. natrab

Dec 9, 2003
    Bay Area, CA
    Yeah, next step is they'll promote you to "Package integrity checker," or in other words that UPS guy who hits all the packages with a bassball bat and makes my life hell (of course they'll never admit he exists :scowl: )
  5. Frijoles Negros

Frijoles Negros