Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

A pre-amp / power amp worthy of a Schroeder Bass Cabinet

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jdagger, Dec 16, 2004.

1. jdagger

jdagger

Nov 21, 2004
    Hi All , I just found this site. I hope this is a good place to post my inquiry. If not foregive me, I am a newbie. I am looking for advice on a power amp / pre amp config that is worthy of a Schroeder 1210 (soon to be a pair of them)

First I have to say that Jorg makes the greatest of cabinets. I just got mine and it is every bit as awesome as everyone told me it would be. The Schroeder cab makes even my current rigs (Hartke 3500 and SWR combo) sound better than they have ever sounded, but the dilima is that they are getting a bit long on the tooth, and are capable of only handling 4 ohm loads max. It's time for me to upgrade them and I want to upgrade to a separate pre-amp and power amp rack-mount rig.

I play mostly blues, rock, country, and funk style and do mostly small to medium size bar and private party kind of gigs.

I would be interested in hearing from anybody that is currently playing on Schroeder cabs as to what they are using and how they have the rigs configured. Actually all opinions are valued but I am definitely buying another Schroeder cab so the front end amplification for two 4 ohm cabs is my main interest.

Thanks !!!

2. Rod B.

Rod B.

Jun 11, 2002
    Montana
    Can't go wrong with a Read Purity and a PLX or Stewart, IMHO.

3. Yeah. Hi fi pre and a PLX or Stewert are probably the best things you could use.

Although some other pres would be good. I bet an SVP would sound great through a Schroeder.

4. Schwinn

Schwinn

Dec 4, 2002
    Sarasota, FL
    As for preamps, I will soon be able to compare an Ampeg SVP-Pro and a GK 2001RBP. The Ampeg sounds great through the 1210 cab.