Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

A problem

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by foolfighter24, Jul 18, 2001.

1. foolfighter24

foolfighter24 Guest

Apr 22, 2000
    Arizona
    First, I have no idea where to post this, because there are several different things that could be going wrong.
    I think its my bass, though....

I have a Crate 100 watt bass amp. Gets the exact sounds I like with my Squire Standard P Bass Special. The bass has been good to me and so has the amp. (I play in church with this bass through a TubeWorks 7200 and sounds great).

But I have come across a problem. I am fairly new to playing bass(a year) and found it easier to play with a pick. I play various versions of rock(punk, power pop, etc) and I play hard. I prefer the P pickup with a little bit of the J mixed in. But with my hard playing, the P pup reacts like I am slapping on the bass. It creates this ultra punchy sound that I would like to be able to control(with EQ). This sound causes the PEAK red light to flash on the amp. That seems like a bad thing. And I'm not liking my punchy sound. I'd like to keep the lows my P pup gets but get rid of the PEAKing on my amp. That is my problem. Any help would be so greatly appriciated!

--Some more info on my bass setup: I believe I have fairly low action, which also causes fret buzz, correct? Can I fix that myself, or is there some truss rod adjustment? And my pickup is pretty close to the string(under 1/4 inch)...can this be the problem here and would it be solved by an action adjustment?-- Thanks again.

2. Cat

Cat

Apr 5, 2000
    Penn State
    that red light probably means that the onboard compression is limiting the signal. i think if you lower your bass volume and your preamp volume and then raise your main amp volume, this will help. i might be wrong though, this is just how it worked on my old combo.

3. Slater