A producer contacted us. Should I be psyched?...

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by miko, Oct 24, 2003.

1. howdy--

so i just checked my e-mail and found this message from a producer here in new york. i'm not quite sure what to make of it. i can't tell if he's more interested in making money off us by getting us to record, or hooking us up with record labels, so they can get us a deal and pay for the recording themselves. hence, i don't know whether or not to get excited. [though i did get pretty excited when i read it].

help me out here. what do you make of this letter? here is exactly what he sent:

Hi there.

I'm a rock record producer in NYC and I just was checking you guys out online. Are you guys looking to record more tracks? Let me know. I work with a slew of major labels and indie labels on projects on a regular basis. I've got great relationships in the record industry and I'm a
    kick ass music producer to boot.

What do you have???? A record deal??????????? Maybe it's about time!!!!!!!!

Anyway, let me know what's up.

(I left his name out deliberately)

My understanding is that labels and producers work closely together, and producers are fair game for helping you to get a record deal.

so what's your understanding of this? i really need to get hip to the biz aspects of music.

2. Google his name, see if it comes up on any known artists. If so, then get psyched
  3. I think I would at least investigate this. A producer doesn't make any money unless he brings in an act and they make some music together.

Chances are if he checked you out online then maybe he has heard something that he feels he can sell.

Don't get too excited, you don't know if you can even work with this guy. Who knows, maybe his vision of what you can do is different from yours.