A Question about Schooling and Jobs

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by skit_skittson, Apr 9, 2002.

1. I am a junior in high school now. I'm am going to the Players School of Music after my senior year of high school. I will attend that school for a year or two then I am off to Roberto Venn's School of Luthiery. I really want to be a luthier and work at a shop or someday own my own. Do you (anyone) think this would be a good plan to get into the business? What would my chances be to get a job at a manufacturer coming out of a school like that? What would I expect my paycheck to be like starting out or after I have been doing that (building or working at a shop) for awhile? Any answers or opinions would be greatly appreciated. I'm trying to start my career planning and the rest of life life. Thanks and Peace to All.
  2. I'm really serious about this. I want to do this for a living. If anyone has any input it would be greatly appreciated.
  3. dhuffguitars

dhuffguitars Luthier/Bass Wanker depending on your opinion

Sep 18, 2001
    Don't get into this business if you want to park a Porsche in your garage any time soon.:D Starting out in this business is very difficult, only do this if it is your hearts passion. The only way you will make a decent living is if you go into semi production of instruments like Mike Tobias, Ken Smith, etc.. If you are wanting to do custom work you will have some dry spells at the beginning and need a second job, or do a fair amount of repair work to make ends meet.

I am not trying to discourage you, for I am currently in this stage, but it sucks up all your money buying thousands of dollars of tools before you can be prepared to open up shop.

As for working for a shop, from my experience in looking into that is that you don't get paid much more than minimum wage to start off. I would like to hear from Ken Smith on what the starting wage is at his shop.
  4. fastfretter

Apr 16, 2002