Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

A question about signing a bass guitar

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by markjazz, May 17, 2002.

1. As I'm going to north sea jazz this year to see Marcus Miller and Stanley Clarke, I want to try something.

As it is always relaxed at North Sea Jazz, I'm gonna try to get Marcus Miller and Stanley Clarke to sign my latest bass.

Dou you have any experience with getting basses signed?

What kind of marker or other writing tool should I use?

I know it is a long shot but Marcus asked for it himself last year at north sea jazz if I had my bass with me, so he could try playing it and sign it!

Edit: grammar correction

2. thrash_jazz

thrash_jazz

Jan 11, 2002
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Artist: JAF Basses, Circle K Strings
    I have no experience with this, but wouldn't a marker rub off too easily?

How about one of those touch-up pens for automotive finish?

3. malthumb

malthumb

Mar 25, 2001
    The Motor City
    Stanley signed one of my basses with a Sharpie. He signed it in 2 places, on the back of the neck, which at the time was unfinished, and at the back of the headstock, which has a polyurethane finish. I had the neck resealed with a polyurethane finish, so that signature is preserved.

The signature on the back of the headstock shows no signs of deteriorating. Of course, no one has any reason to consistently touch that part of the bass, so I think it will last indefinitely.

My suggestion to you is to have them sign the headstock or some other part of the bass that doesn't get a lot of finger traffic. Take a Sharpie with you. Best permanent marker I have had experience with.

[​IMG]

Peace,

James