a question.. help me out..

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by quad_strings, Jan 22, 2003.

1. quad_strings

Jan 22, 2003
    hi! im a newbie so.. i have a question.. i use a 4 string, and was wonderin if can use .135 gauge strings.. is .105 the thickest it can get? im usin a squier so.. :p
  2. BassWizard55

BassWizard55 Guest

Dec 21, 2002
    Rome, Ga
    Don't worry about string guages now. You are new to the bass, so practice and get to know the beast right now. By the way, .135 is usually used for 'B' strings, and unless you are going to tune your strings to 'BEAD', I would stay with the standard tuning ('EADG').
  3. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

Welcome to Talkbass, quad!

I don't know what you're hoping for with a .135 string, but, here are 3 factors that lead me to believe such a large jump in gauge may not work out well/at all;

1. The width of the nut's slot may be too narrow for a much larger string. As Wizard says, a .135 is B string territory and your bass was made for typical E gauges.

2. The thicker string may not fit well into the bridge saddle. or, fit at all. A .135 string used as an E may just set on top of the saddle instead of into the saddle as a string should.

3. You may find the .135 is too "wobbly" since your Squier wasn't made for something that large. The reason so many 5-string basses have a 35" scale is to ensure a taut B string (although there are some good 34" scale fivers on the market. But those I know of use a tiltback headstock design).

If you're hell-bent on trying it, ask the dealer who sold the bass or any Fender dealer.
  4. quad_strings

Jan 22, 2003
    coz i tune down my bass to cgcf, and my strings hit the fretboard every time i hammer, coz its too loose.. it somehow produces a "clicking" sound coz it hits the fretboard.. wat can i do to prevent it?
  5. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member