1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

A Question to the amp electronics experts.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Andre_gt7, Jul 31, 2007.

1. Andre_gt7

Andre_gt7

Jan 4, 2005
    Atlanta - GA
    Hello,

I own a Trace Elliot GP12SMX Amp+Power Amp combo that i use with a TE 4X10. It is an older pre-gibson model.

6b3gw3t.

Recently I've had 2 problems with it that are driving me crazy. I have little electronics knowledge.

1) The "INCREASE GAIN - OK - OVERLOAD" leds next to the input jack and Gain knob are not working anymore, they just died.

2) (Most serious problem IMO) Whenever i make a change on the Gain knob. The sound becomes "crackly" and only returns to normal when i turn the amp off and then on again.

Thanks in advance for any help:bassist:

P.S - Taking it to a tech to fix it is not an option, but I know someone who has good electronics knowledge and wouldn't mind making the repairs for me, granted i find out what needs to be done.

2. Andre_gt7

Andre_gt7

Jan 4, 2005
    Atlanta - GA
    bump

really need some help guys. Thanks

3. I believe you'll be hard pressed to find someone to accurately diagnose your amp problem without it being on a test bench and having access to test equipment. Why is a tech not an option?

If the problem always happens after turning the gain pot, I would first try cleaning the pot and checking it for a cold solder joint. Or replace the pot. It's possible,though, that the LED failure is also related and a tech really needs to look at it.....good luck

4. Hmmm... Those strange details you described somehow sound rather familar. My guess is the issue is related to the input jack. A failing or 'intermittent' input jack can cause some very odd behaviour in an amp.

5. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member Commercial User

Mar 20, 2004
    Madison WI
    HPF Technology LLC