1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

A rant about state government...

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Cosmo420, Nov 10, 2010.

1. Cosmo420

Cosmo420

Sep 10, 2010
    Roanoke, VA
    So, like many people, I'm divorced and paying child support. Also, like many people, I'm looking for work. I've been working the same place for 21 years, but that place is closing the end of this month. I've been looking for a job for most of the year, but haven't had any luck. 52 applications, no interviews. Luckily I have a friend who is going to let me work part time for him (but making a lot less hourly than I was).

In August I filed a "motion to review" to get them to look at my child support obligation, knowing that my financial situation was getting ready to change. They tell me it can take up to 6 months for them to review the case. So, now I find myself in the situation of going to a new job starting Monday, and the amount of child support I'm paying is more than I'll be making there. After numerous calls to the child support offices over the last month, and promises that I would be called back (and never actually got called back), today I'm told "it may still be up to 90 days before your case is reviewed".

It's not that I'm trying to get out of paying child support. I owe it, and I pay it. But, I can't pay more than I make.

2. Jonyak

Jonyak

Oct 2, 2007
    Ottawa, Ont
    um, how old are your "children".

3. Cosmo420

Cosmo420

Sep 10, 2010
    Roanoke, VA
    8 and 12. Why does that matter?

4. Relic

Relic Cow are you?

Sep 12, 2006
    Robbinsville, NJ
    That's ridiculous! (It 'aint no different here in Jersey though, it's not just VA)

I'm wondering if there's a way to expedite your request? There HAS to be. Financial situations can change overnight.

5. Relic

Relic Cow are you?

Sep 12, 2006
    Robbinsville, NJ