1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

A Request For Help On Double Thumb

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Seb Peters, Dec 20, 2011.

1. Seb Peters

Seb Peters

Oct 21, 2011
    Hey everyone,

I've been trying for months to get the hang of double thumbing.

I'm failing.

Nothing I seem to try makes it any better.
    Before you say anything, I'm not a 'It's not working straight away so it's never going to' or a 'I think I'm amazing even though I'm not and the remains of my confidence are scattered on the winds.' sorta person. I'm a bassist with a good few years under his belt who's got enough humility to come out and say: "dude, I'm F#cked if I know what to do!"

Thank you kindly in advance for any light anyone can shed.

2. jmattbassplaya

jmattbassplaya Looking for a gig around East Islip, NY!

Jan 13, 2008
    What about it is giving you trouble?

3. Seb Peters

Seb Peters

Oct 21, 2011
    It's very awkward and generally uncomfortable, but it sounds terrible as well, I think the way I 'learnt' the technique was just wrong...

4. jmattbassplaya

jmattbassplaya Looking for a gig around East Islip, NY!

Jan 13, 2008
    I remember it being a rather hard technique to learn and figure out. It's hard to explain without being able to show you in person, but the trick to remember is that this technique is all about economy of motion.

The first thing you need to figure out is the proper way to have your hand rest. Your thumb sticks out straight as if you're giving a thumbs up. Your fingers, on the same hand :p, should be straight and only curled at the middle knuckle of each finger. This kind of gives you a monkey paw sort of look.