Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

A solid jazz rig

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by clouddead, May 14, 2005.

1. clouddead

clouddead

Jan 15, 2003
    orlando
    I made a thread earlier this week about a rig for college. I have been playing more and more jazz and have decided to get a rig more suitable for jazz volume levels, not rock. The wizzy from EA has intrigued me for a while now and i have read everything i can find on here about it. What light weight heads are good matches to this little cabinet? Mind you im a college student and dont have a ton of dough, so my budget is around 500 or so for a used head. The eden wt-400 has popped up on the classifieds a few times for around my price range. Is the wt-400 as warm as the wt-550 i have played through? Also, what wattage/rigs do you play through in your jazz groups?

2. GSPLBASSDC

GSPLBASSDC

Jan 25, 2005
    Phoenix, AZ
    If I told you about a brand new head that has a warm almost tube-like sound, and could deliver 800 watts @ 4ohms and 1200 watts @ 2 ohms, and is a natural for jazz, funk, hard rock and anything else you could throw @ it, would you be interested????

3. GSPLBASSDC

GSPLBASSDC

Jan 25, 2005
    Phoenix, AZ
    You would??

Then for about $499 on eBay, check out the Kustom GrooveBass 1200. I've got one,and I play jazz, funk, gospel, and blues. There are other cats here that have one as well...and we all swear by them as probably the best bang for the buck out there right now!!! This puppy rocks the house with tons of clean tone... check out Bass Player for a recent review.

www.kustom.com

4. Plain Old Me

Plain Old Me

Dec 14, 2004
    Check out a new Traynor YBA 200. $600, 200 watts all tube. Nothing is as tubular as tubes themselves. :bassist:

5. clouddead

clouddead

Jan 15, 2003
    orlando