A Total new-guy has some questions for you

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Dr. Jones, Aug 10, 2002.

1. Truth be told, I'm a drummer who's tired of being locked down to a drum set. I'm making the move from drums to bass but, aside from some screwing around and filling in for friend's bands every once in a while (punk bands... not too hard to leard their songs) I really haven't gotten down to learning much.

For instance, what's good gear for little cash. Since I'm going to be buying my own gear, and I don't have a whole lot of cash to do it with... I need an idea of what I can get for as little money as possible, and not wind up with a load of garbage that'll be breaking down in a couple of months.

I'd like to get a 4-10 cab and a head, but I don't know who provides decent gear for affordable prices.

The bass I've already got.

So fire away.
  2. SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    First, if you are new to bass, check out the Newbie FAQ (shameless plug). And poke around in the Amps forum, you can find all your questions answered there and more.

I don't have an Avatar cab, but people love them and they are insanely cheap. You can start there. :)
  3. awesome! That's, exactly what I was looking for. The reviews sound very positive and the price... jesus. I've been looking around for a while and I can't seem to find anything for under $500 on the cabinet tip.

Now for a head...
  4. I lost track of that thread over on TW... So what bass did you end up getting?
  5. Ryan L.

Ryan L. Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 7, 2000
    West Fargo, ND
  6. White_Knight

Mar 19, 2000