Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

About Stewart (Class H) amps...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bigbajo60, Aug 25, 2004.

1. bigbajo60

bigbajo60

Nov 7, 2003
    Laredo, Texas
    ...I searched the forums and couldn't find an answer to this question:

How sensitive to voltage "issues" are these amps? Are they as "forgiving" as other, more common amps? Or do they demand clean, precise voltages to operate properly?

The reason I ask (as many of you may have already surmised) is that too many of the bars/clubs where we play just don't know "squat" about their electrical systems.

I don't want to purchase a Stewart and then find that it won't "put out" just because we're gigging at "The Taco Shack" instead of Madison Square Garden! ;)

2. Fuzzbass

Fuzzbass P5 with overdrive Supporting Member

I'm no engineer, but the Furman PL-plus in my rack does have a voltage meter. I've used my Stewart in gig environments that often deliver lower-than-optimum voltage, and I've never noticed degradation in sound from the Stew.

3. notanaggie

notanaggie Guest

Sep 30, 2003
    I think all teh Stewarts have SMPS in them (switchmode power supplies).

Thos are usually quite forgiving of varying line voltages, although they may shut off like any other one if it drops too far.

Some SMPS amps may accept anything from 85V to 264 V and work fine.

I have heard that some of the Stewarts tend to get hot and shut down, but that may or may not be related to electricity issues. Could be, current draw and stress for an SMPS goes up a bit at low line.

4. Fuzzbass

Fuzzbass P5 with overdrive Supporting Member

This only applies to the models that don't have a fan (e.g. the 1.2), and even then, typically in very hot conditions (sunny outdoor summer gigs).

5. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002