1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

About to get my first bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Holy War, Sep 29, 2008.

1. Holy War

Holy War

Sep 18, 2008
    VA Beach
    hey guys, Ive been playin guitar for about 6 years now and have been bitten by the bas bug. I normally post over at Harmony Central and Rig Talk, but I know this is the place where people come to talk bass. Anyways, I am a hard rock metal guy and am playing in a death metal band right now. I am buying the bass because I want to start my own thrash metal project. Ok enough about me....

What I want is Fender American P Bass. I know a guy that I am going to trade one of my guitars with for an American 08 Deluxe P Bass. Because Im new at this, I figured a P Bass is a good place to start, that, and I cant really get ahold of a Ric 4003. I work at a very large independant music retail store on the east coast and have been playing just about every bass we have in stock: roscoe, esp, fender, ibanez etc. I really like the sound of the P Bass

My question is, is if the Deluxe is really worth getting over a regular P Bass. What are the tonal differences between the two, and most importantly, can it pull off the type of music that I want to do. If anyone is interested, heres a pic of the bass I in question...

file-2.
    file-1.
    file.

2. Holy War

Holy War

Sep 18, 2008
    VA Beach
    what i really originally wanted, and the bass i have in stock at my store, is this:

019046270000X.

3. stflbn

stflbn

May 10, 2007
    Nashville
    It's gonna give you a very wide assortment of sounds. I'd say a very good start.

4. stflbn

stflbn

May 10, 2007
    Nashville