1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

About to graduate from college, need advice on musical direction

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Kevin V, Apr 2, 2009.

1. Kevin V

Kevin V

Mar 12, 2003
    Union, New Jersey
    Hi guys,

I've been playing bass recreationally for 5 years now and at 21years old I'm about to finish off senior year at a really challenging university. I see the finish line, but all I can think is, wow, I really want some new bass gear to reward myself for putting up with all this endless work.

This is kind of a fork in the road for me, so I can really use some advice, and I know a lot of you guys do not mind sharing your opinions - I appreciate it.

When I graduate, I'm looking at service/volunteer type positions and then possibly going to grad school. I'm hoping to have more time to play bass, get better, and hopefully be able to play in more of band type setting - writing songs, playing covers, doing small shows, who knows maybe get famous ;).

While I'm good at playing "stuff" and creating lines/riffs, my timing is not great and I have no grounding in music theory. As far as my gear goes, I have an Ibanez gsr200 bass, a Gk 400rbIII amp, a Gk backline 2x10 cab, and a 10Watt practice amp.

As a graduation present for myself, I really want to buy a new bass. I'm thinking of a Fender Hoppus Sig, and then keeping my Ibanez as practice/backup. I also want to eventually get an Avatar NEO 4x10.

Ideally, I want to practice and get MUCH better. Should I just practice along with my favorite music/tabs, or should I really try to get lessons? I've been good at balancing many responsibilities all my life, but now I really want to make bass/music main my passion besides my career.