1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Absolute beginner looking to get into electronics and pedal modification.

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by DeadbeatLine, Apr 25, 2017.

1. DeadbeatLine

DeadbeatLine

Nov 13, 2013
    Hi all.

I recently attended a local 'make your own DIY fuzz pedal' that was advertised as no experience required (I have absolutely zero electronic component knowledge whatsoever, total newbie) that ended up with me creating a very basic but very usable silicon fuzz pedal. Whilst the course was a beginners pedal building course, it certainly wasn't a beginners electronics course, more of a case of 'solder this component here and connect it to here' without explaining what each part is or does, or how the circuits work.

Never the less it very much piqued my interest, and I'd love to be able to modify existing pedals with the knowledge of knowing what I'm changing and why it changes the sound, and potentially design my own in future. However, I'm finding it quite tricky to get into from a bare bones level, especially with it relating to a pedals/guitar specific approaches.

Can anyone recommend any guides/starters/beginnings?I was thinking of getting a dummies guide to electronics but find it hard to focus on a guitar based aspect (i.e. how and why components affect the tone, etc)

Any help? Thanks guys!

2. RobbieK

RobbieK

Jun 14, 2003