1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Absolute Beginner Question: Equipment

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Hektik27, Aug 19, 2012.

1. Hektik27

Hektik27

Aug 19, 2012
    Hi,
    I've been reading stuff on here about bass guitar for a couple weeks now, but I can't find answers here or elsewhere about some fundamental questions I have.

Is it worth getting an amp or using amp simulator software on a computer?

What equipment would be needed to use a computer as an amp?

Is a mixer required to listen to both music and your bass simultaneously while using an actual amp?

Is a mixer required to listen to both music and your bass simultaneously while using amp simulator software?

I apologize if this is in the wrong category and forgive me for any mistakes I have made or misunderstandings.

Thanks.

2. Dbassmon

Dbassmon

Oct 2, 2004
    Rutherford, NJ
    Welcome to TB.
    Your question is not fundamental. I don't think I understand your goal and perhaps you do not either. If you wish to play with others sometime in the future, then get an amp. If you looking for a practice setup, your computer will work if you have the correct software and audio interface. The answer can get complex depending on your goals.

There are many amps, practice devices such as stomp boxes that will let you mix external audio with bass.

I started off with a small amp and a stereo. Your computer can do both and If I were starting today, that is the way to go for practice.

Hope this helps.

3. Hektik27

Hektik27

Aug 19, 2012
    Thanks, bassmon, you're helpful, and regarding my goal, I'm just looking for a setup so I can practice without disturbing anyone, or at least disturbing them as little as possible

4. PlungerModerno

PlungerModerno

Apr 12, 2012
    Ireland
    Hello and welcome -