1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Accidently bought a fretless

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Mebsuta, Mar 14, 2019.

1. Mebsuta

Mebsuta

Mar 16, 2014
    Here, I found this late Foundation with VFL pickups and ordered it. You know that feeling when it shows up, and there's that big box on the porch: "Yes!"

So I drag it inside, lift it out of the box, peel away the bubble wrap and realize there are no frets.

"My God," I thought. "What is this?"

At first I wanted to return it, but I started playing with it and I like it. I has flatwounds and I have never had those before. There are less overtones and it doesn't sound like a tank, so it's different. It also has kind of a natural chorus sometimes. It has lines on the fingerboard, so I think it was made as a fretless and not a conversion.

I don't care about mwah, I just like the way it sounds without all the clanking. I'm pretty bad anyway so who knows.

Geezer Butler said he played a fretless Rickenbacker on Johnny Blade (Never Say Die), which I like. You can hear it on the part where the song slows down in the middle. He does this descending slide sometimes instead of following the guitar riff. Now I have to keep it and play that song.

The End.

[​IMG]

2. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    Making lemonade!!!!

Sweet bass.

Fat Freddy, murphy, dbsfgyd1 and 15 others like this.
  3. growlypants

growlypants

Nov 10, 2012
    Atlanta
    Accidentally read this post! ;) (Just kidding). I need to play a fretless one of these days - maybe even buy one, so I could KEEP playing it...

4. Now you can take a path you never expected.
    If it doesn't work out, just send it to me. :D