Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Aching Triplets

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by stephanie, Feb 11, 2002.

1. stephanie

stephanie

Nov 14, 2000
    Scranton, PA
    Hello,

I have been practicing playing 3rds up the neck (2 octave scales) in triplets all week and it has been causing me some pain in my left hand.

My lesson was to play them using the metronome, starting out at 60bpm and then go up to 90bpm, playing regular 3rds (CE, DF, EG, etc.) and then going CDE, DEF, EFG, etc. Playing it in regular 3rds no problem at all, but I started to find the other way becoming painful when I started playing it faster. I couldn't get up to 90bpm. Around 70bpm I was starting to feel the pain! I know it takes time to build up speed, but I don't think it shoud be painful. Maybe the positioning of my left hand is incorrect? It does go off as I get further up the neck. Also, I find that as I play faster my fingers kinda lag, so to speak, as if they can't keep up with the speed. Especially coming back down the neck. They don't wanna move!

Is this just a matter of I need more muscle strength or is there possibly something wrong with my hand position? (My hand, as far as I know, is correctly positioned, at least starting out.)

Be well,
    Stephanie

2. ashton

ashton

Jan 4, 2001
    Australia
    hi
    keep practicing and build the muscles strong. it will take a while but youll show signs of strengthening quickly.
    later
    Lukas

3. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification