1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Acme Low B-2 - This is how power hungry!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Jim C, Apr 14, 2009.

1. Jim C

Jim C Is that what you meant to play or is this jazz? Supporting Member

Nov 29, 2008
    Bethesda, MD
    So, my original post asked the question would this cab be good with an SVT 3Pro; I passed on the unit that was for sale as many thought it wouldn't have enough power.

http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?t=534843&highlight=acme

Just received this from Andy:

Hi Jim,
    Thanks for the inquiry.

In fact, the SVT Pro3 is an amp I recommend to users of our 2x10, just because our customers love the combination. I have no personal experience with the amp, I only know what I'm told.

The 2x10 will hold its own up to the point where light drum miking is used, as in snare and kick. If your band is loud enough so the full drum kit must be miked up, you will probably need a larger rig, or a little PA support yourself.

Thanks,
    Andy Lewis
    Acme Sound Ltd

arrghh; maybe should have bought that cab as most rave about the tone; down side being power hungry :crying:

2. Zooberwerx

Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

Dec 21, 2002
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't the SVT do 275 watts @ 8 ohm, 450 @ 4 ohm?

Andy recommends it based on the subjective testimonials of others so take it with a grain of salt. On a more positive note, I see B-2's pop up on TB, E-bay, etc.....keep your eyes peeled.

Riis

3. Rick Auricchio

Rick Auricchio Registered Bass Offender

+1. Everybody has his own idea of loudness.

For example, I sub occasionally with an "outlaw rock" (country-flavor) band. Electric guitar, acoustic guitar, drums, bass. All but the drummer sing.

I'll do those gigs with the Eden WTX-260 and one D112XLT.