Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

acme low b 4

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by xb100, Dec 5, 2004.

1. xb100

xb100

Mar 24, 2004
    NH, In
    Hey guys i have been doing some research about the acme low b4, and i was wondering would it be a good cab to use in a rock band?

I've read that its power hungry. (I can take care of that with my qsc 1450 in bridged mode probobly.)

Ive also read that the tone is kind of flat and it isnt colored at all.

Would either a bbe bmax or a tech 21 sansamp rbi be best to get a nice rock tone out of it?

Also it is a shoot out between a acme low b4 or a schroeder 1210.

Both about the same price but what can you ugys say?

Thanks

-rob

2. Do you like that kind of sound?

3. msquared

msquared

Sep 19, 2004
    Kansas City
    I've never owned one, but as a drummer I've played in rock or blues situations with a few bassists who have used them. From where I was sitting they always sounded very clear. It was always really easy to lock in with the bass player using them.

Coincidentally, every one of those guys played a Lakland 55-94 through it. Hm, interesting.

Anyway, I think they're great cabs. If I were building a new bass rig right now, it'd have two B2s.

If you do even a minimal amount of digging you'll find at least one semi recent thread comparing a 1210 and an Acme (among other cabs). If you're curious about a Sansamp RBI through a B4, buy a used RBI on ebay and resell it if you don't like it. They seem to be avaliable all the time with no shortage of buyers.

Also check out the SWR Interstellar Overdrive or Grand Prix.

4. Hrothgar

Hrothgar Guest

Sep 22, 2003
    Seattle