Acme users! - How many watts RMS per 10" speaker do you use?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by alexclaber, Jun 18, 2003.

1. <100W

2 vote(s)
  2. 100-200W

9 vote(s)
  3. 200-300W

8 vote(s)
  4. 300-400W

10 vote(s)
  5. 400-500W

6 vote(s)
  6. >500W

10 vote(s)
  1. alexclaber

alexclaber Commercial User

Jun 19, 2001
    Brighton, UK
    Director - Barefaced Ltd
    Just like it says in the title: so if you drive a 4 ohm Low-B2 with an amp rated at 500W RMS (@0.5% distortion) @ 4 ohms, you have 250W/10" speaker. Vote away!

Also any comments on the situations you find you rig suits and also ones where you've not had enough volume. I'm curious to see what the maximum acoustic power of an Acme speaker is, and also if the number of mid/high drivers makes a difference.

So you know where I'm coming from, I've been using a pair of Low-B2II cabs for a few years now, powered with a Mackie M1400 which put 425W RMS into each cab at low distortion. (i.e. not the fake amount of 500W RMS which is at a higher distorion level). I've sold the Mackie because it's too damn heavy for me, and I'm looking to replace it with something like a QSC PLX and am wondering how much power to go for.
  2. jokerjkny

Jan 19, 2002
    NY / NJ / PA
    when i had my B2, i was pushing at least a good 650 into it, without breaking a sweat. and daggit, did it sound killer!
  3. FunkySpoo

FunkySpoo Supporting Member

Feb 6, 2002
    When I had my B2 I talked to Andy and he said that 500 watts is ideal. And yes it did indeed sound killer.
  4. I'm using a Peavey DPC1400X (1400 watts @ 4ohms) with a 4 ohm Low B-4 II and it sounds phenominal! If you're looking into a replacement amp I would check out the Peavey. 1400 watts, one rack space, 13 lbs. If you can't get past the name-sake, check out Stewart (they use the same technology).