1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Acoustic 220 Head, What speaker do i need?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Lemming16, Nov 27, 2010.

1. Lemming16

Lemming16

Oct 13, 2010
    Hi everyone, i just started playing bass (after years of playing guitar), and i got on a Pawn shop an Acoustic 220 head working perfectly for $100. So all i need now is a cab. Since all cabs here in Mexico (just as all new music instruments) are a total rip-off, i decided to buy a speaker and make a custom cab.

My question is, how many watts, and ohms should the speaker be? And what size do you recommend?

Most of the shops here in mi city have only Eminence Delta, at fairly good price, (i noticed most of them were 8 ohms) i just need to know if i could use those with 8 ohms or if i should look for 4 ohms speakers, and how many watts do you recommend.

The specs of this amp are: (You can see the full specs here http://acoustic.homeunix.net/twiki/bin/view/Acoustic/BassHead220)

160 Watts RMS @ 5 % THD into 2 ohms
    125 Watts RMS @ 5 % THD into 4 ohms

then on the other add it says (even though its the same model)

210 Watts RMS @ 5 % THD into 2 ohms
    170 Watts RMS @ 5 % THD into 4 ohms

What do you recommend?
    Thanks in advance.

2. WOW! Look at the size of that electrolytic in that thing!

I hope this head is working - as those caps can get funky after a few years.

Since this is obviously a Solid State amp, there are a lot of areas that aren't as finicky as a tube head.

The Ohms rating is the lowest level, not a limit that you HAVE to hit, nor do you have any troubles if the drivers (speakers) are higher, say at 4 Ohms.

As Ohms go DOWN - Watts go UP. To a point!

At 8 Ohms for a driver load, the amp won't be putting out the highest Wattage, although this is not a problem.