Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Acoustic 361PP hum

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by FUNKonthewall, Nov 24, 2004.

1. FUNKonthewall

FUNKonthewall Nailing The Groove

Sep 29, 2004
    Atlanta, GA
    Endorsing: Fodera Guitars, Aguilar Amps, Dunlop/MXR Accessories
    I just bought and cosmetically restored an Acoustic 360/361PP stack and I couldn't be happier with it except for the fact that there's kind of a bad hum coming from the power amp. I assume it is 60-cycle hum because the "pitch" of the hum is roughly a B flat and B flat is about 60Hz. Honestly, you can't hear any trace of it at performance volume, but I would still love to get rid of it nonetheless. I am by no means an electrician, but I would like to know what I have to do/replace to get rid of it. I tried searching, but I got no results, so I figured I'd start a new thread. Thanks for your help!

2. Raven

Raven

Nov 14, 2004
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Have you checked your cables? Also does it hum even if the bass isn't plugged into the head? The head is a preamp, the power amp is in the cab, if the cab is the one I'm thinking of. The cable between the two has to be shielded, just like your instrument cable. Speaker wire won't work. Also, have you tried plugging in the power cord both ways? If the cord or plug has been replaced, its possible that someone crossed the line and neutral wires. If its a 3-prong plug, get one of those adaptor plugs so you can try plugging it in both ways. If none of these suggestions eliminate the hum, you may need to take it to a tech who you trust.

3. FUNKonthewall

Sep 29, 2004
    Atlanta, GA