1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Acoustic basses worth it?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ryanRHCP, Jun 18, 2010.

1. ryanRHCP

ryanRHCP

May 26, 2010
    I have been playing bass for about 2 years. I own a Ibanez GSR 200 and a MIA Fender Jazz 62 RI. Next month my band are supporting the lead singer of Aiden on his solo tour and we are doing an acoustic set. Is it worth me splashing some cash on getting an acoustic bass or would it be wiser just to stick with a clean sound? maybe lower the tone? or should i get one of those Boss acoustic pedals? Im sure i seen one when i was buying my ODB-3.

I know people here have played bass for years and years and some of even teachers, so any advice would be much weclome.

Thanks
    Ryan

2. GlennPagano

GlennPagano

Jul 20, 2009
    Glen Mills
    I have been playing for about one year. I recently bought an acoustic bass and I love it. It is extremely easy to pick up and play anywhere, no amp required. You will not regret it.

3. waleross

waleross

Nov 27, 2009
    South Florida
    I like Washburn acoustic guitars ( I have one) . I just looked at their acoustic basses and found this link, worth looking at , good luck .......:cool:

4. The BOSS AC-3 is a sortta letdown to me. It made 'the sound' OK, but it had a plastic-y effect too.

It just feels processed and that's all I can say.

I got an AEB when I saw the Clapton Concert with Nathan East on a big 5-er acoustic and ran right out and got one - although a 4-stringer.

It has it's place and frankly it can be used as a regular bass unless you slap and need that extra percussion.

The have so much resonance and sustain that I had to get a sound hole plug so I could control the feedback.

Yeah - they add a lot to your music and they fit in places where you don't think they can.