Acoustic Guitar amp.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Hounddog409, Oct 21, 2016.

1. Hounddog409

Hounddog409

Oct 27, 2015
    ohio
    Can anyone get me started on a good quality small amp for my wife's Taylor guitar?

Just need a small home practice type amp and I have no idea or experience with acoustic guitars.

Is the Fender Acoustasonic 15 or Peavey E20 decent amps? Not looking for anything fancy - just a solid quality home practice amp.

2. Stumbo

Stumbo Guest

Feb 11, 2008
    Check out Fishman products. Excellent quality and sounding.

Killed_by_Death likes this.
  3. beans-on-toast

beans-on-toast Supporting Member

Aug 7, 2008
    I wonder if you aren't barking up the wrong tree. Acoustic guitars are loud enough on their own for home practice.

If you want louder, perhaps buy her an electric such as a Fender Stratocaster or Telecaster. Can I interst you in a Martin D-28 acoustic? Unfortunately, both are way over what you are proposing to spend.

An amp should serve her requirements. Battery power supply so it can be taken anywhere? Mic input? MP3 input to mix music with playing? Headphone output? High impedance input for a piezo pickup? If it is to play with a small group in the future, how much power is necessary? Do you want built in effects? Etc. As you can see, a lot of complicating factors.

A useful tool for any musician is a digital recorder. She can improve her playing by critically listening to her performance. Zoom recorders start at just over a hundred dollars.

Last edited: Oct 21, 2016
    deathness and azfatboy like this.
  4. azfatboy

azfatboy

May 11, 2016
    I have the Acoustasonic 15 and it's a great little amp, but I don't own an acoustic guitar. I actually bought it for the XLR input--I use it as a "vocal" practice amp... :)

5. Stumbo

Stumbo Guest

Feb 11, 2008
    This. Also, new strings will sound better.

6. Hounddog409

Hounddog409

Oct 27, 2015
    ohio