1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

acoustic set etiquette??

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by HugheJapackage, Oct 20, 2009.

1. So my band was just asked to play an acoustic set at a mall nearby and I was wondering what etiquette that entails. Do I bring a small amp and play? Does the whole group show? I've never done and acoustic show before so If you could share your experiences with them that would be great, thanks:hyper:

2. Nashrakh

Nashrakh

Aug 16, 2008
    Hamburg, Germany
    If the set was truly acoustic, that'd mean bringing a double bass... (because acoustic basses are way too quiet)

In most cases, bringing a small amp is ok. Depends on how loud you play, if guitars or keys are going through PA and such.

3. nsmar4211

nsmar4211

Nov 11, 2007
    Better check with the mall and have them define acoustic!

"acoustic" can mean no one electrified....... can mean bass player through smallllllll amp , guitar/vox through pa (drummer still on hand drums), etc.

Get the venues idea of volume levels first!

4. You need to sort this out before you go to play. This type of gig is a totally different dynamic.

5. crijan

crijan Supporting Member

Jul 6, 2005
    Dallas, Texas
    Endorsing: JH Audio IEMs
    We do acoustic shows as acoustic/electric guitars, vocals, electric bass DI'd, and mic'd congas/percussion through a PA. It would have to be a super quiet atmosphere to get away with no amplification at all.

6. RexNFX79

RexNFX79

Jan 12, 2009
    TENNESSEE
    The guitar players should have acoustic guitars. At that point, you are doing an acoustic set in the eyes of most. No need to make any other major changes.

7. jaywa

jaywa

May 5, 2008
    Iowa City, IA