Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Acoustic Trio's

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by chimp, Apr 11, 2005.

1. chimp

chimp

Dec 4, 2004
    South Africa
    I would say im still new to the jazz seen (+- 1 year) and i am looking for jazz trio's i already love Chick Corea, Stanley Clarke and McLaughlin but i struggle to find a good album of these three individuals on acoustic. I have a great love for jazz with lots of energy another favorite of mine is Medeski, Martin, and Woods but ive only got a few songs to go on.

If anyone could help me in looking for some trio's it doesn't have to have the most crazy bass playing ever but I do enjoy listening to musicians who can play.

Who are these trio's?
    What do they play?
    What makes them so good/special?

2. Adam Barkley

Adam Barkley Mayday!

Aug 26, 2003
    Jackson, MS
    California Guitar Trio (gits)
    Jacob Fred Jazz Oddessey (drums, piano, bass)
    The Bad Plus (drums, piano, bass)

All are worth checking out to see if you dig them.

3. glydebass

glydebass

Dec 3, 2003
    Atlanta Ga
    John Butler Trio - guitar/lapsteel player, upright bass/ electric bass, and drummer. They are a phenominal band getting big in Australia and are currently touring with Trey Anastasio of Phish. Zebra, Betterman, and Peaches and Cream are great songs to check out.
    Nickel Creek - guitar, mandolin, fiddle, occasional session upright player. They lean more towards bluegrass but are just great songwriters. Check out The Lighthouses Tale for a great song.
    The Beautiful Girls - guitar, bass, and drums. Another Australian band. They sound very familiar to Jack Johnson. They are a little harder to find but some good songs are Morning Sun (great bass intro), Blackbird, and On A Clear Day.

4. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    Ontario