Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Action, and it's effect on your sound

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Lovebown, Nov 22, 2002.

1. Lovebown

Lovebown

Jan 6, 2001
    Sweden
    Hey.. I'm kinda new to double bass and have been wondering, what level of action do you guys use?

My teacher, who I respect very much and is a very talented guy, says that when he started playing people told him that higher action = bigger sound.
    But he eventually lowered his action a good bit, and found that he preffered that sound... he says that low action means longer decay and higher action decays faster... Do you agree with this? What is your preference???

I play only pizz by the way...

thanks,
    /lovebown

2. The action should be high enough so you can play as forcefully as necessary without the strings rattling against the fingerboard. I think in the quest for a bigger sound many people confuse things by looking at the height of the strings from the board, but overlooking the real factor - the bridge height.

Raising the bridge adjusters may increase volume and punch, but it's not because the strings are farther from the board. It's because a taller bridge increases the string tension which, in turn, increases the downward pressure on the top. The tension is determined by the height of the bridge, not the distance of the strings from the fingerboard.

The amount of string tension is not only affected by the bridge height. It is also determined by
    (1) The angle of the string passing over the bridge. The steeper the angle, the higher the tension. That's why people either put a raised saddle or reset the neck forward when they want to loosen the bass.
    (2) The gauge of the string. Heavy strings increase tension and are generally louder.