Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Action & playability...(???)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by sfinlayson, Feb 15, 2002.

1. sfinlayson

sfinlayson

Feb 15, 2002
    Hello, I'm new to this forum.
    I am a musician, primarilly a drummer (insert favorite drummer joke here), but I try to remain well rounded. I play a bit of everything.

I have a question, but first a little background. My first Bass I bought was a "cheapo" $350 SDGR (Ibanez) just to see if I really liked playing bass. It turns out I do. It served me well, but it sounded "flat" on recordings so I bought another Bass just for recording. I bought a G&L SB-2 Fretless (4-String) and MAN! It sounded SO much better. It was such a difference that I decided to get a nicer fretted Bass to phase-out the SDGR Bass. So, I got a G&L L-2500 (5-string) and it was just SOOOO nice. I run it through an Aguillar(sp?) pre in our studio.

Now... here's my reason for confusion. Are different Bass manufacturers inherintly better playing than others...? I LOVE the sound of my G&Ls, but no matter WHO I take them to for set-ups, I can never get them to feel like OTHER Basses I've played. I just played a Music Man and the action was so low and the tension so loose, it was like air guitaring, and there was very little buzz. I've also played many other high-end basses that just play like "butter"... so easy. Yet my "Expensive" G&L basses feel like a workout to play. The strings "feel" tighter, the action is higher...

Are these basses doomed to live a life of lesser playability just because they are what they are...? CAN they be setup to play like the others I've played, or will doing so make them unplayable...? * sigh *

So many questions, so little time. Sorry to overwhelm you guys with this "newbie" question... what do you want from me...? I'm "just" a drummer... :)

Thanks.
    - Scott