Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

active 6-string pickups

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by E.O.M., Dec 22, 2001.

1. E.O.M.

E.O.M.

Dec 7, 2001
    Grand Rapids, MI
    I play an Ibanez SR 506. Everything in it is still stock. Which means, it has 2 passive soapbar-style pickups, and 9V active electronics.

But I feel that the stock pickups (ADX6?) do not have all the low end that a good pickup should have. So I'm considering buying new pickups. I've never done this before, so I'm wondering what would be my best bet? Bartolini? EMG? Seymour Duncan? Other?

Thanks in advance.

2. E.O.M.

E.O.M.

Dec 7, 2001
    Grand Rapids, MI
    *bump*

Can anyone answer this?

3. oddentity

oddentity

Nov 20, 2000
    Philly
    Well, right now I only play four-strings, but I use EMGs in one of my Jazz basses. It has tons of low end and great tone overall. I don't use a preamp, either...

4. I like Bartolinis myself, I have them in my Dingwall 5 string and I am putting them in a bass I am building (unless the Lane Poors I am dealing on work out to a reasonable price).

If you go with a good set of Bartolinis, EMGs or Seymour Duncans, you really can't go wrong. Lane Poors are supposed to be good, if you can find a pair.

I have heard, though, that EMGs are not voiced as well for low end as some of the Bartolinis, but this is heresay.

Geoff