1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. Welcome Back!  Please see this thread for more info about the site outage.  Thank you for your patience as we work out bugs and tweak server configs.

Active bass with no preamp?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by AlexMC, Apr 14, 2018.

1. AlexMC

AlexMC

Apr 14, 2018
    I've just purchased a used 'Vester Clipper' active bass (Warwick thumb copy) from eBay; I'm no expert but it looks like the previous owner has messed with the electronics (photos attached):

- a 9V battery is installed: positive -> both pickups; negative -> output jack ground lug
    - no preamp in the control cavity
    - neck p/u output -> wiper on vol pot #1 (B50k)
    - bridge p/u output -> wiper on vol pot #2 (B50k)
    - pot #1 and #2 outputs -> wiper on tone pot (B50k) with a parallel connection to the output jack
    - there is no evidence (screw holes etc) that a preamp was ever present in the cavity

Does this configuration makes sense (I thought that an active bass always needed a preamp)? If not, I guess I need a preamp suitable for 2 J pickups and 3 control knobs. I'm assuming there are several possible configurations such as:

- neck volume, bridge volume, concentric bass/treble
    - concentric neck/bridge volume, bass, treble
    - master volume, blend, concentric bass/treble

There is no room for an extra mid pot but I could drill a hole for a mid-cut toggle switch if the preamp allows it.

Please help!

Attached Files:

2. MPU

MPU

Sep 21, 2004
    Valkeala Finland
    Looks like it has active pickups. Which brand are the pickups?

3. Killed_by_Death

Killed_by_Death Snaggletooth Inactive

If it sounds fine the way it is you don't need to add a preamp.
    Active basses normally have passive pickups & the active part is the preamp.
    You've got the opposite, active pickups & no preamp.