Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Active EMGs on Fretless???

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Rhythmbug, Jan 23, 2006.

1. Rhythmbug

Rhythmbug

Jan 22, 2006
    London UK
    Hi Guys

I have a fernandes fretless 5 that has EMG HZ passive pups and fernandes active pre. (My other bass is a SR5 with a basslines pup)

I recently got a cheap emg BQS system (not fitted yet) and planned on lumping a 40DC in the neck position and 40TW in the bridge to the fernandes.
    Though after doing a bit of google research, I've seen some negative feedback about active EMGs in fretless, that the sound is too harsh. I wonder whether this is just a personal preference?

When I started playing bass 12 odd years back I remember seeing the video clip for primus - tommy the cat - and being totally blown away by the tone (amongst everything else of course) - and he uses 40DCs.
    Now I know alot of people wouldn't go for the tone he gets from fretless, that's fine. And obviously there is alot more to his sound that just his pups, don't get me wrong.
    Its just I worry about the negative feedback thing, even anthony vitti says he doesn't use EMGs on his fretless because it doesn't have enough bottom. That's why I think the 40TW might help out.

The other thing is I see alot of support for Barts on fretless but there are so many different types I don't know where to start.

Can anyone offer any insight, cheers

2. elros

elros

Apr 24, 2004
    Norway
    Proprietor, Helland Musikk Teknologi
    My old Acacia custom fretless had EMG DC pickups in it, which I later changed to the TW type. They both sounded lovely. The TW didn't quite have the same top end as the DC model, but it had some warmer mids, as well as the coil tap option.
    I'd not hesitate to choose EMGs for fretless again. Very good stuff.

3. BassyBill