Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Active vs. Passive

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by DigitalGnome, Nov 21, 2003.

1. DigitalGnome

DigitalGnome

Oct 30, 2003
    Hello. I'm an aspiring bassist, and before I purchase my first instrument, I'd like to know the differences between active and passive pickups. What are the pros and cons of each? Is it true that active pickups require batteries? Thanks in advance.

2. sheepdog

sheepdog

Feb 20, 2003
    Birmingham, AL
    If it is your first bass, go for passive.

some questions so we can help you better:

What style music do you like?
    Budget for a bass?

If it is your first bass (and you are looking for inexpensive but good), can't go wrong with Essex/Brice basses at www.rondomusic.bigstep.com

give them a look

3. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    In electronics, active always means that a circuit needs a power source (e.g. battery) to function. A passive circuit does not.

An active bass usually has an EQ that can cut AND boost frequencies, whereas a passive bass only has an "EQ" (tone blend) that can cut frequencies (the highs with a tone blend).

Also, an active bass has a low impedance signal that won't be affected by the instrument cable, the high impedance signal of a passive bass will be affected, which can result in a loss of highs. This is what can make an active bass sound more "open".

4. sheepdog

sheepdog

Feb 20, 2003
    Birmingham, AL
    (posted before I read the previous..)
    just realized I didn't answer the other question.

active basses have a preamp between the pickups and the output jack. The preamp boosts the output level of the pickups.

Pickups -> Preamp (signal boost) -> output jack