Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Actual Differences Between J & P

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by lostcausebass, Oct 29, 2002.

1. lostcausebass

lostcausebass

Oct 29, 2002
    I've been playing bass for about 2 years now, I used to play guitar, and a punk band needed me to play bass and now that's all I play. I got a cheap 5 string, have taken private lessons, and now I'm looking to buy a P bass or a Jazz bass. I know all the obvious differences, but can someone explain the SUBTLE differences?

2. TheListPunk

TheListPunk Guest

Feb 2, 2002
    Topeka, Kansas
    What are the obvious differences you speak of? Are you just talking about body style and neck or do you know anything about the tone.

josh

3. geshel

geshel

Oct 2, 2001
    Seattle
    If you smell near the neck joint, J basses are slightly more fragrant.

4. temp5897

temp5897 Guest

:rolleyes: :D

5. dmaki

dmaki

Apr 29, 2000
    Chattanooga
    A P-bass has more bottom and isn't quite as articulate. It works very well in most settings and is practically plug-and-play. It'd work well in punk. A Jazz has more possible tonal variations, but isn't quite as thick sounding as a Precision. I'd suggest testing them both out in the store and see what you like. P's have bigger necks, but I find them comfortable... J's hurt my hands after a few minutes. If you aren't quite set on absolutely getting a Fender, check out G&L. The L-2000 is awesome, can closely replicate sounds of J's, P's, and Stingrays, as well as having its own great tones. I'm trying to find a nice used one, they'd work great in punk as they can be much more aggressive than Fenders. Play around and see what you like.

Good luck
    Dave

6. I consider the differences in sound between each bass to be a subtle difference. Here's what I think..