Actual performance gear?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Bass of Spades, Jan 20, 2006.

1. Bass of Spades

Bass of Spades

Oct 20, 2002
    What do you guys run your basses though on gigs? dufus terms would be appreciated as I don't usually understand the abrieviations used here.

Do you guys actually use your rigs/stacks? Do you use the PA or something? I'm competely nieve to the ways of live set-ups but I want to learn.

I think it's really important to know as much as I can about this subject before I make a fool of myself on stage. How much use do y'all think I'll get out of my full stack in the working musician's world? I'm pushing 350W through a 410 and a 112. Oh, and a gt-6b

I'm sure it's different for different venues but just tell me what you do for different situations. The more information and reasoning behind your choices the better as I am a quintet tubist by nature so I'm new to this whole, using equipment to get my sound out.

Please TB, enlighten me to the ways of live sound.

Thanks a million in advance,
  2. depends where you are.... in the best conditions... your setup should ONLY be for stage monitoring....unfourtunatly that isnt always the case.
  3. Lowtonejoe

Lowtonejoe Supporting Member

Jul 3, 2004
    Richland, WA
    Smallest bar gig - GK700RBII and an Aguilar GS112

Normal Bar gig - Bag End S15-CUS or Eden D210XLT and GK700RBII

Big bar gig - 2 each Aguilar GS112's OR Music Man HD-212 and GK700RBII OR Sansamp RBI through a QSC PLX2402.

Outside gig (no PA support) - Bag End AND Eden cab fed by a Sansamp RBI through a QSC PLX2402.

Outside gig (with PA support) - Bag End AND Eden cab fed by a Sansamp RBI through a QSC PLX2402 but turned down to a respectable stage volume.

Quiet church Gig - TFB-420 into an Epifani UL110 or a GK700RBII into an Aguilar GS112.

Bigger Church Gig - TFB-420 into an Epifani UL-110 and an Aguilar GS112.

GK700RBII = Gallien Krueger.

TFB-420 = Thunderfunk.