1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Add a Cab, or different cab

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Pure.Fusion, Aug 15, 2012.

1. Pure.Fusion

Pure.Fusion

Dec 12, 2010
    Hi all.

Newbie here (You've been warned!)

Just got my first bass amp for studio practice only.
    Tome Hammer 500 (love it) and got sucked into an ebay auction and won a Markbass NY 604 (4x 6inch).

Now for my purposes the 604 sounds fine, but I don't know if it will cut it for volume.

If I need more, I was thinking about putting a 8Ohm 1x12 underneath itto get the 500w out of my amp and take the load off trhose poor little 6" drivers.

But after reading...
    http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f15/mixing-cabs-now-i-get-908210/

... it looks like this could be a gamble.

Can anyone comment on the outcome of adding a 1x12 to this rig, or is it just suck it and see?

FM

2. astack

astack

Nov 12, 2011
    St. Louis, MO
    I think you have a pretty good grasp of it for a noob :) And a TH? Dang, good work (love mine).

Only thing I'd say is remember that the TH500's only putting out ~250W into that 8 ohm cab (600W thermal according to the site). So, powerwise, you're pretty well matched up actually, whether you have just the MB cab or the MB + a second 8 ohm.

3. Pure.Fusion

Pure.Fusion

Dec 12, 2010
    25 years guitar experience. New to bass and certainly new to bass amps.

I though the power handling of the cab should have been ok, but when "at volume" Low b's and pops seem to, well, make it sound like it's going to break.

Thus this post - I'm trying to figure if the extra 1x12 will get me all the freedom i need, or whether I should put the little sucker strait back in ebay and buy something else.