Addictive basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by CrazyTwoKnobs, May 28, 2003.

1. Yep.

12 vote(s)
  2. What are you talking about, no!

8 vote(s)
  3. Carrot?

8 vote(s)
  1. I've been playing my Ibanez EDA900 for a couple of months now, and when i went to guitar center to pick up some strings, I decided to try out some basses. I couldn't play any of them worth crap. They all felt HUGE. So I picked up another EDA and suddenly started playing fine. When I got home I tried my squier and mim jazz, and only the squier felt weird. I know the EDA is a small bass, but I didn't think it would affect my ability to play other basses... Anybody else have this problem? Anybody else only able to play a certain bass? Any ideas on how to fix this? I love the EDA, it's my main bass, and its sound greatly surpasses both my others, so I'm not going to just stop playing it.

Thanks a bunch guys.
  2. Killdar

Dec 16, 2002
    Portland Maine
    I dunno if I am....My bass always feels good, but some basses feel better, and some feel worse.

I don't know if it is a problem seem to like the small necks. Js and Ibani have small necks, so if all other basses feel weird, maybe you just should accept the fact that smaller necks feel better to you. If one comes along that feels weird, but sounds really good, you'd just have to get used to it, or move on.
  3. 20db pad

20db pad

Feb 11, 2003
    I been everywhere, man...
    None. At all.
    With all the variables that are out there for a bass guitar, it's almost a given that something other than your personal instrument will feel foreign.

I've resigned to the fact that something that at least looks and feels like a Fender jazz is what I'm most comfortable with. I can probably make some music with an exotic fretless nine string, but the jazz is home for this guy. I'm lucky that enough options - for me, four or five string - are available in the jazz design platform.