1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Adding a tone knob?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by nicktheninja222, Mar 21, 2009.

1. nicktheninja222

nicktheninja222

May 29, 2008
    Ok, please forgive me, I'm about to ask some stupid questions...
    I would like to add a tone knob to a guitar.
    It's most likely something that I can't do, as I have no experience.
    Assuming I want the tone knob to affect both pickups:
    How much would it cost to have done?
    Would it be take a lot of time?
    Is it stupid and should I shut up and go away?
    Thanks for any help.

Also, the only reason that I'm posting this on a bass website is because I can't find an online community of guitarists like that can help me out. I guess guitarists don't stick together like bassists! :smug:
    I'm also assuming that the wiring won't be too much different. Then again, I don't know much about this type of stuff.

2. Adding a tone control is extremely simple and straight forward...

Can you solder?
    I would recommend that you do this yourself, if you are capable of soldering.

3. nicktheninja222

nicktheninja222

May 29, 2008
    I can solder and weld pretty well. (Not that I intend to take a welding torch to any poor instrument, even if it is a guitar.)
    It would be easy then?

4. robert43

robert43

Jun 5, 2007
    Australia
    Hi its easy to do . Cost about $10 for a pot , knob & a cap.
    Thats if you have a soildering iron soilder wire etc.
    I recommend go to semore duncan web site has tons of wiring diagrames etc
    Time about 1/2 hour to a hour

5. This should take about 5 or 10 minutes, not 30.

Here is the schematic.
    Take the wire that goes to the output jack as your input, and feed the output back to the jack.
    The ground goes with all the other grounds.