Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Adding another 2X10?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Hofbrauhaus, Oct 23, 2003.

1. Hofbrauhaus

Hofbrauhaus

Feb 10, 2002
    Upton, MA
    Hey everyone, my current rig setup is a Genz-Benz XB2 2X10 cab mated to a Genz-Benz GBE400 head (I had Genz-Benz wire the cab to 4 ohms instead of the standard 8 ohms as an option, so the rig is putting out 330 watts). My question is if you think it would be effective to add another 2X10 cab. The head is stable at 2 ohms, and is rated at 450 watts at 2 ohms. I'm pretty new to rig setups since I always played combos before hand, but I'm assuming this means that I would be putting 225 watts into each cab. Would this actually make the rig sound worse because the cabs are 350 watts RMS each, or should this not matter because I wouldn't have to crank the amp up as much to achieve more volume due to the increased overall power and speaker area? My goal obviously is to turn my current rig into a 4X10, but using two 2X10's instead, which in my opinion, should actually sound better because the cab size is better matched to the # of speakers, plus it's easier to transport 2 smaller pieces than 1 big piece. Let me know your thoughts, thanks!

2. j_piddy

j_piddy

Sep 23, 2003
    yes

3. Metal Mitch

Metal Mitch

Jul 14, 2003
    NJ
    Sounds like you have a pretty good handle on the issue, and answered most of your own question. :D

As you pointed out a 2x10 will usually sound better than a 4x10 although the 4x10 will get more lows than a pair of 2x10s due to the larger cabinet size. Adding another 2x10 should get you another +3db of volume for doubling the speaker area. I agree that speakers sound better when driven harder, but at 100-125 watts per 10" driver you're still giving it over 50% of it's rated power so it should sound fine.